Hemp seeds do not contain gluten-protein, and are also nut, lactose, and sugar free. People who are gluten intolerant can incorporate hemp seeds into their diet safely. This is good news for many because more and more people are becoming aware that they have gluten sensitivities and even intolerances.
It’s understandable why these people want to know what foods contain gluten. And this is the same for supplements too. Now that we’ve answered the question for those wondering, are hemp seeds gluten free, let’s discuss a little bit more about the significance of this and discuss some other valuable information about hemp seeds.
Before doing this, we should mention that although there are no known allergies to hemp, it is possible to have wheat allergies (gluten comes from wheat). Wheat may promote symptoms that are like gluten allergies when you are taking a compound product that includes hemp seeds.
In addition, as we’ll detail below, hemp seeds can be cross-contaminated with gluten as farmers often produce them together.
A Smarter Natural Protein Source
Not only are hemp seeds gluten free, but as a protein source, they’re a smart choice for anyone who has a multitude of other intolerances to go along with their gluten ones. That’s because hemp seeds are a more digestible protein than meat, whole eggs, cheese, and milk. Considering those are the benchmark sources for protein in the Western diet that’s really saying something.
Where hemp seeds really shine is in the way they promote cellular health. They are one of the best-balanced sources of Omega 3 and Omega 6 essential fatty acids. Between them and their spectrum of proteins they promote fortified cellular development for a whole host of immediate health benefits, including:
- Significantly lowered cholesterol and blood pressure plus decreased probability of stroke
- Reduction of the inflammation that comes with many diseases and conditions
- Speedier disease recovery due to better cellular health
- Better circulation for those with circulatory impairment, and particularly for diabetics
- Better immune system performance overall
Risk of Cross Contamination
Those asking the question are hemp seeds gluten free can trust in the insistence that they’re not, but there is one precaution that needs sharing here. Hemp is frequently grown in rotation with other crops, and most common among them are gluten grains – in particular, wheat. These farmers will use the same harvesting, storage, and transport equipment for the gluten grains that they use for hemp.
Cross-contamination can occur as a result, and it does happen quite regularly in these scenarios. Certain studies in the US have found traces of gluten protein in hemp flour, and in significant enough quantities to be a cause for concern for people with gluten intolerances or sensitivities.
This is the only way there would be an exception to our understanding of are hemp seeds gluten free, but it is one that you should pay heed to. Especially if your celiac disease or similar condition makes it essential that there be no gluten in your hemp seeds. You can look for products that indicate ‘cleanly’ sourced hemp, and customer recommendations online are a good way of verifying that.
Of course, you shouldn’t put full faith in any manufacturer claiming to have ‘gluten-free’ hemp seed products as there isn’t any type of regulatory body overseeing that. With that said, products labeled as ‘gluten free’ should have less than 20 parts per million of gluten.
The Canadian Celiac Association also certifies brands that manufacture gluten-free products, through their Gluten-Free Certification Program. You can look up safe products on their website or check for their badge while shopping.
Let’s end this on a positive note. As hemp becomes more widely accepted, more farmers will grow the crop exclusively. This will cut down on the incidence of gluten cross-contamination considerably.